Santana and finding inspiration

Standard

One reason why I love Santana is the intensity he plays with. There aren’t many people in the world that have a passion to play with such zeal. When I listen to his music my body automatically starts moving, which is what music should do to you. It also makes me feel like picking up a paint brush and painting! Long, intense strokes, bright colors, and quick movements. He makes me want to create something beautiful! Another reason I love his music is because he plays emotion, and passion. You feel what he is trying to convey, and his music engulfs your entire body.
His music is excellent to use when your aren’t inspired, or lost on what to create. Practice listening to his instrumental pieces and just doodling. I say instrumental because you don’t want the words to affect your emotions or remind you of past memories. You want to try and filter it as best as possible. Try it and see what you come up with, you can then take those doodles and expand them into new pieces!
Try it and let me know how it goes! Good luck! =)

 

2 responses »

  1. I was once watching a documentary in which Santana said something I will never forget. It was so beautiful I actually wrote it down:

    “Often, a musician can do to a woman what a lover cannot do to a woman. I’m very flattered that you’re here after the gig, and that you’re knocking on my door, and you’re beautiful and all that. But, at the same time, I cannot do to you what my music does to your soul.”

    That sentence had me reeling for days . . . because it is SO true!

Leave a Reply

