Beauty in the un-perfect

Standard

A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.  -Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I’m sorry it has been a few since my last post, It’s been so hectic around here! I’m working on a project at the moment with Shashat in Amman, Jordan as the props, costume and make-up manager, so you can imagine how hectic and stressful my life has been! It has been incredibly fun and the people involved in the project have been incredible and inspiring, so it makes all the stress and busyness worth it!

I was talking to a friend yesterday about if being complicated is a good or bad thing and it really got me thinking about why I believe that having some sort of complication in ones life is always good. Perfection to me is boring. Hear me out for a minute here before disagreeing. If you had everything perfect, then you have nothing to strive for, nothing to compare your perfection to, to even realize it was perfect in the first place. You also wouldn’t appreciate it, but thats another story in itself.

Im talking more about the ugliness in perfection. Perfection is something someone strives to be, but never achieves. It’s a mark that you look to and compare with what you are doing at the moment, be it an art piece or trying to better yourself in some way.

Perfection to me is the un-perfect. Having something that has grooves, cracks, unevenness in it is more interesting to me than something that is smooth and perfect. Maybe it’s simply a preference of mine, but it has a history, a story, and a soul. It carries something in it that a perfect object does not have. Perfection, like art, is more of an opinion and preference than anything else. I’m the type of person who tries to see beauty in everything, especially in the ugly. I believe that doing so gives everything a chance, and creates a world filled with beauty. You start to see the world differently. Try it. Really.

And remember, George Orwell said it well when he said  ‘The essence of being human is that one does not seek perfection’.

Leave a Reply

