Colors, Patterns & Shapes

Standard

 

It as been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve been so obsessed with working on my art piece, I haven’t done much of anything else! One thing I have noticed working on this piece is how competitive I am with myself… I push myself to the brink of exhaustion, to the point where my neck and back are killing me, and my fingers are stiff like no other! Is it worth it? I say yes, but ask me that when I’m done! I really want to show you guys the progress, but I want the whole thing to be a surprise, so keep checking my blog to finally see the entire thing complete! I have done quite a lot, but there still is a lot of work to be done!

Working on this piece has been making me think a lot about how the world is formed from many small, abstract shapes, patterns and colors. One thing I would love to be able to do is break down the way I see things into these forms. I know many artists have done studies of this same idea, but I want to be able to train my eye to see it that way. How incredible would that be! If by breaking down objects into their most basic forms do we change their structure and purpose? Do we finally see things how they really are, or are we, by breaking them down, changing what they are?

I painted this painting a few years ago, and it makes me realize how I always have been interested in colors, patterns and shapes. Looking at an image and painting it abstractly while bringing it all together to form objects can be fascinating. Seeing the world in a different way makes you appreciate all that’s around you.

I think this is one reason why Modern Art is so difficult for people to understand. Pushing the norm to no end. There are many artists throughout the art movements who have pushed boundaries to try and understand abstract ideas. Some of them studied how objects are created by shapes, others studied the pattern of colors. Maybe that is what it is, we simply think way too abstractly for other people to understand. Either way, I prefer thinking abstractly and day dreaming of the impossible. Or is it possible?

Leave a Reply

