Death: by design

Standard

In my last post, I wrote about how I had been having a hard time focusing on working in my “style” . Frustrated and completely not inspired I took a few days off trying to find some sort of inspiration… anything really, to show me where to go, and how to get there. I pinned on Pinterest, I stumbled on Stumble Upon, I watched movies, I listened to music, and I spoke with friends. I found inspiration, but I’m not sure I found what I needed, until I spoke to a friend of mine who’s a graffiti artist. This may be obvious to most, and yes, it is to me as well, but maybe it was what I needed to hear at that moment. He said, “Just create”. I knew this, but then the question turns to “how”? How do I simply create? And he told me to simply move to another direction. Leave those pieces I couldn’t complete alone, and simply start once again with a blank piece of paper. Draw what I hadn’t drawn before, walk into the unknown and make it my own. Hard to do, trust me, but I tried. I think what kept me at it was his enthusiasm to see the new piece. When I was frustrated with it, he pushed me forward and offered to listen and suggested ways to push past my frustrations, and when I was happy with my piece, he was ecstatic, and encouraged me to keep at it.

I guess this is a thank you to him. Through all my frustration, he kept me moving, and for that, an art piece was created, giving me ideas for a series of pieces I am thinking of creating. Let us hope i keep moving forward, and I keep creating. I’ve names it “Death: by design”. What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

