Vaginas – The Taboo Subject

Standard

Vaginas. A powerful word in all cultures, where people take offense, women feel empowered, and others cringe at the mere thought of them. It truly surprises me how an organ can have so much power over so many people. Coming from an Arab country there is a lot of phobia and conservatism towards females in general. Where honor killings happen everyday and where you are treated differently depending on wether you are lucky enough to be born with a vagina or not. Where women seem to deal with so much and get so little in return. Watching so many women in my life have this inner strength, dealing with situations that seem impossible and being able not only to get through them, but come out of them shinning.

Maybe this is what I am trying to study. The strength of women. One thing all women have in common that men don’t, that puts us in a category of being the lesser sex, the weaker sex, and the sex that should obey is our vagina. So much controversy comes from that simple word that I feel like I need to show not only its beauty, but its truth. The truth behind dealing with the sexism, the oppression, and the strength of all.

I’m not quite sure where this is going, and honestly if it will go anywhere. I have so many different ideas to deal with this, yet nothing seems right just yet. I’m not looking to be tacky, or vulgar, on the contrary, I want to be able to make women around the world proud. Proud of not only being a women, but for being who they each are individually. I want to make a man look at my pieces and be proud to know that they came into the world from one of them. To look at his mother, sister, wife, colleagues, and strangers and respect, love, and cherish every one of them knowing that they are his equal. Not better, and definitely not worse than a man.

This is a start to the study. A sketch I created a few months ago that I tried to bring in the beauty and complexity of women. I’m not sure of it’s obviousness, but I must say it is a start. What do you guys think?

564237_10151384796242749_1293933263_n

Leave a Reply

